LPPS Top Teachers and Principals of the Year

LPPS Top Teachers and Principals of the Year
LPPS Top Teachers and Principals of the Year


For Immediate Release – May 22, 2017

Contact:  Delia A. Taylor, APR, at 225-931-0286 or taylormedia@bellsouth.net or Deborah Kropog at 225-686-7044 or deborah.kropog@lpsb.org.




Livingston Parish’s Top Principals and Teachers Honored

Juban Parc Elementary Principal Recognized as State Semi-Finalist


            LIVINGSTON, La. – Livingston Parish Public Schools recently recognized the parish’s top principals and teachers for the 2016-2017 school year, including the parish’s Elementary School Principal of the Year Shanna Steed who is a semi-finalist for the state’s top award. 


            District administrators, school board members and representatives from Dream Teachers, a statewide nonprofit organization that recognizes and rewards educators who model instructional excellence and dedication, participated in the recognition ceremony that was held May 18 in the district’s special education auditorium in Livingston.  Each honoree was presented with a certificate, flower bouquet and gift from Dream Teachers.  The top three winners in each category were awarded plaques.

 LPPS Top Teachers of the Year

Denham Springs High Teacher Elizabeth Hart, Holden Junior High Teacher Jodi Herring, and Freshwater Elementary Teacher Karen Pourciau were named the parish’s Teacher of the Year winners in the high school, middle school and elementary school categories, respectively. 

 LPPS Top Principals of the Year

Live Oak High School Principal Beth Jones, Springfield Middle School Principal Dwayne Dykes, and Juban Parc Elementary Principal Shanna Steed received the parish’s top Principal of the Year awards.  Steed is also a state semi-finalist for the Louisiana Elementary School Principal of the Year Award, which will be announced later this month.


            Assistant Superintendent Joe Murphy spoke about each principal, noting that all three manage campuses that took in another school in the aftermath of the flooding in August 2016. 


            Jones’ campus became the home of the parish’s two largest schools – Denham Springs High and Live Oak High – after the flood, requiring her to manage the transition of as many as 3,000 students each weekday for about four months.  Dykes’ middle school campus housed students from Springfield High School from Sept. 26 to Oct. 3, until that campus could reopen.  Steed’s campus absorbed students from Southside Elementary into existing classrooms until that school’s temporary campus was built on the rear four acres of Juban Parc Elementary’s property.  To accommodate the new campus, Steed’s school had to give up its playground, change some parking designations and choreograph new carpool procedures to allow for both campuses to co-exist on the same property.


           “I can’t say ‘Thank You’ enough to these principals and what they mean to me and this school system.  We could not have opened just 20 days after the devastating flood hit our parish had they not been willing to open up their campuses and do everything they did to accommodate our needs,” Murphy said.  “Their efforts just prove, once again, that we are one family in Livingston Parish Schools.”


            The top three teachers of the year were greeted by words of encouragement from Albany Middle School teacher Joni Smith, who was named the Louisiana State Teacher of the Year for 2016.  Each winner also received a special introduction.


            Freshwater Elementary Principal Julie Dugas introduced Pourciau, noting that she had progressed from an instructional coach to a certified teacher under her tenure, and that always, Pourciau was known for the long hours and dedication she gave to the job.  Herring’s daughter, sixth grader Autumn Herring, spoke about her mother’s love for her job and love for her students at Holden School.  Newly-named LSU basketball assistant coach and former player Tasmin Mitchell told the audience how Hart encouraged him and helped him manage the stress and worries of fathering a child when he was a student at Denham Springs High School.  That influence helped him to continue his education at LSU and pursue a professional basketball career in Europe.


           “You hear the emotion that is present in this room.  That’s what this job is about.  It’s about people who care about students,” Superintendent Rick Wentzel said.  “I am so very proud of the work that our teachers do each and every day, and the positive impact they have in our classrooms.”


           Wentzel recognized all those Livingston Parish teachers who were nominated for the Teacher of the Year award by their respective schools. Those honored include:

 LPPS Top HS Teachers of the Year

LPPS High School Teacher of the Year winners:  Shellie Woodward, Albany High; Elizabeth Hart, Denham Springs High; Edith Cutrer, Doyle High; Josh Burton, Holden High; Brett Beard, Live Oak High;    Carol Tate, Springfield High; Brandi Hoch, Walker Freshman; and Melinda Joelle Bourgeois, Walker High.

LPPS Middle School Teachers of the Year          

LPPS Middle School Teacher of the Year winners: Casey Foster, Albany Middle; Mandy McCann, Denham Springs Junior High; Jodi Herring, Holden High; Eva Glasscock, Juban Parc Junior High; Tabatha Walker, Live Oak Middle; Melissa Anderson, Maurepas; Karen Deel, North Corbin Junior High; Jason Vidaurre, Southside Junior High; Danielle Richardson, Springfield Middle; and David Will, Westside Junior High.

LPPS Elem Teachers of the Year                     

LPPS Elementary Teacher of the Year winners:  Scarlett Smith, Albany Lower Elementary; Melyssa DePaula, Albany Upper Elementary; Heather Kuhlman, Denham Springs Elementary; Stacy Perrone, Doyle Elementary; Nicole Yates, Eastside Elementary; Kati Holt, French Settlement Elementary; Karen Pourciau, Freshwater Elementary; April Blanchard, Frost; Debra Held, Gray’s Creek Elementary; Annie Bigner, Holden; Sarah McCrary, Juban Parc  Elementary; Jennifer Berry, Levi Milton Elementary; Sunnie Glover, Lewis Vincent Elementary; Eva Mizell, Live Oak Elementary; Joelle Shelton, North Corbin Elementary; Tonya Dean, North Live Oak Elementary; Amy Frizell, Northside Elementary; Karly Robertson, Seventh Ward Elementary; Annette Marrs, South Fork  Elementary; Kristy Baker, South Live Oak Elementary; Elizabeth King, South Walker Elementary; Stephanie Cronan, Springfield Elementary; Julie Freneaux, Southside Elementary; and Patricia Underwood, Walker  Elementary.    

Notice of Discrimination

The Livingston Parish School Board does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, religion, national origin, disability or gender in its educational programs and activities (including employment and application for employment), and it is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of gender by Title IX (20 USC 168) and on the basis of disability by Section 504 (42 USC 794). The Title IX Coordinator is Stephen Parrill

Livingston Parish Public Schools is committed to ensuring that all websites and web applications, both public-facing and for internal use, conform to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (W.C.A.G.) 2.0 Level AA. Any issues should be reported toLPWebAccessibility@lpsb.org. (stephen.parrill@lpsb.org), Assistant Superintendent, P.O. Box 1130, Livingston, LA 70754; Phone (225) 686-7044. The Special Education Director is Dr. Eric Penalber (eric.penalber@lpsb.org); the LPPS 504 Coordinator is Monica Sullivan (monica.sullivan33@lpsb.org), P.O. Box 1130 Livingston, LA 70754; Phone (225)686-4248.

Fight Fraud, Waste and Abuse